Writing Dialogue

CEOLSIGE

English grammar is hard. It is exceedingly rare for a person to have a “perfect” grasp of the English language, especially when there are so many exceptions and so much encouragement to bend its already pliable rules. Even native speakers often struggle with writing.

This post would be immense if I tried to cover all the most common grammatical issues I encounter when critiquing, so I think I’ll start with dialogue. If you struggle with punctuation in dialogue, you are not alone. Tons of people do. Sometimes they don’t even realize they’ve been doing it totally wrong since birth.

I’ll also go over some style stuff.

I should also add: the style of dialogue writing I use is American English. I want to differentiate because I once completely embarrassed myself by telling an English English-speaker he needed to be using the double quotation mark rather than the single. I was…

View original post 425 more words

Leave a Reply

